, ,

Jack Parow, Riaad Moosa & Khanyi Mbau included in the Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards

New celebs added to the cast for the fourth annual Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards, check it out…

For the first time in the Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards history, the public will know ahead of time who will be performing on the night which in the past was always kept a secret.

This year’s variety show is themed ‘The Point of Funny’ and promises to deliver the most laughs yet. Each skit will be delivered by the talented and somewhat eclectic cast that includes well-known names like: Jack Parow, Rhys Woods, Nik Rabinowitz, Robby Collins, Chris Steenkamp, Pule, Debora Patta, Gilé Motshwane, Loyiso Gola, KG, Deep Fried Man, Tats Nkonzo, Bevan Cullinan and Riaad Moosa.

Barry Hilton, Khanyi Mbau and Darrel Bristow-Bovey are some of the presenters, with three more high profile names to be announced soon.

There are only six recipients, so between the comedy sketches performed by the cast members, the coveted Waldo statuettes will be presented to the lucky nominee who got the most votes.  Each recipient does seven minutes of stand-up as their thank-you speech, which makes for an entertaining evening of off-the-cuff comedy and perfectly rehearsed theatre.

“As we believe the CCA’s should shine a light into the future of comedy in SA, we push to find new ways to use The Teatro at Montecasino through technology and execution. Last year, we pushed the physical boundaries of the building, and augmented reality with graphics – this year, we are focused on the funniest possible night we can, with a few bells and whistles chucked in for fun.” Say co-directors, Dani Hynes and John Vlismas.

The various nominees include:

The Savanna Newcomer Award:  Alfred Adriaan, Loyiso Madinga, Yaaseen Barnes, Glen Biderman-Pam, Bradford Keen

The Breakthrough Act Award: Donovan Goliath, Jason Goliath, Schalk Bezuidenhout, Deep Fried Man, Kagiso KG Mokgadi

The Comic’s Choice Comic Of The Year Award: Tumi Morake, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Trevor Noah, Riaad Moosa

The Times Comic’s Pen Award: David Kibuuka, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Kagiso Lediga, Christopher Steenkamp

Lifetime Achiever: Mark Banks

The Savanna Audience Choice Award: This is the only category that’s open to public vote, so voting stays open until 28 July.  If you want to win a VIP experience to the awards bash, vote now by SMSing your favourite comedian’s unique code to 38374.

Mashabela Galane – Unique code – 1197

Sifiso Nene – Unique code – 1187

Elton Mduduzi Ntuli – Unique code – 1283

Thapelo TIPS Seemise – Unique code – 1150

Thabang E.R – Unique code – 1284

The Savanna CCA ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on 2 August 2014.

Event Information:

Event Info: www.comicschoice.co.za

Email: info@comicschoice.co.za

Facebook: www.facebook.com/sa.comics.choice.awards

Twitter: @ComicsChoice: #SavannaCCA

Tickets: Computicket (www.computicket.co.za)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Us

Hi and welcome to The Socialite, an online magazine giving you access to exclusive Fashion, Lifestyle and Entertainment.

Our site offers everything from gig guides and fashion articles to reviews, interviews, music downloads and the latest hotspots. We’re thrilled to be showcasing the latest news exclusive interviews and we sincerely hope that our site can be of use to you in some way.

Featured Posts