MK Awards Winners 2013

Sunday night saw the 7th annual MK Awards taking over our nation’s capital city with 750 guests coming out to the Pretoria State Theatre to honour  South Africa’s local artists who’re making waves in their respective genres. Each year the MK Awards grow from strength to strength, and this year was no exception.

Some of SA’s top live acts took the stage to entertain guests at the Award ceremony; among them were Bittereinder, Spoegwolf, ISO, Tailor and Black Cat Bones, who won the Best Live Act award.

There was great excitement as Matthew Bairstow won a Hyundai i20 for choosing his best Superband. The Hyundai Superband consisting of Van Coke Kartel and Alex from ISO, also took the stage.


Those who came out tops in each category on the night included:

Best Video:  Van Coke Kartel – Tot Die Son Uitkom

Best Newcomer:  Gangs of Ballet – Hello Sweet World

Best Group:  Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land

Best Solo:  Jeremy Loops – Howling

Best SFX/Animation: Haezer ft. Lark – Brave

Best Dance:  Johnny Neon – Hearts

Best Rock:  Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land

Best Indie:  Shortstraw – One Long Day

Best Live Act: The Black Cat Bones

Best SA Music Festival:  Oppikoppi 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Us

Hi and welcome to The Socialite, an online magazine giving you access to exclusive Fashion, Lifestyle and Entertainment.

Our site offers everything from gig guides and fashion articles to reviews, interviews, music downloads and the latest hotspots. We’re thrilled to be showcasing the latest news exclusive interviews and we sincerely hope that our site can be of use to you in some way.

Featured Posts