, ,

MK 2012 Nominations Announced

It’s that time of the year again when a host of SA’s best loved musos go head to head in 11 categories in the annual MK Awards. Check out the nominations for 2012 below…

This year the awards welcomes a new category to the competition featuring “Best Indie” and viewers are able to vote for their favourite artist via Facebook, Mxit and the MK website.

The winners will be announced at the finale event which takes place on the 23 March 2012 at The State Theatre in Pretoria.

The nominees for 2012 are:

Best Video

Jack Parow – Tussen Stasies
Locnville – Stars Above You
Die Heuwels Fantasties ft. Inge Beckman– Modus Operandi
Spoek Mathambo – Control
Winterstasie – Los My

Best Newcomer

Bittereinder – Ware Verhaal
Shadowclub – Guns n Money
Moses Metro Man – Huigelaar
The Graeme Watkins Project – Music Affair
Mr Cat & The Jackal – The Devil Always Wants To Dance

Best Group

Van Coke Kartel – Ondier Kom
Shadowclub – Good Morning Killer
Zebra & Giraffe – Undo These Lies
Die Heuwels Fantasties – Buitenste Ruim
Bittereinder ft. Tim Beumers – Slechte Mensen
aKING – Catch Alight

Best International Hit

Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man
Adele – Rolling In The Deep
LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem
Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger
Foo Fighters – Walk

Best SFX/ Animation

aKING – Catch Alight
Goldfish – We Come Together
Mr. Cat & The Jackal – Bad Man Comin
Die Heuwels Fantasties ft. Inge Beckman– Modus Operandi
Van Coke Kartel – Ondier Kom

Best Rock

Knave – Hollow Chamber
Van Coke Kartel – Vir Almal
Taxi Violence – Head Or Tails
Shadowclub – Guns n Money
Dead Alphabet – Eat You Alive

Best Indie

Ashtray Electric ft. Gazelle – Release
Yesterday’s Pupil – Too Tired To Disco
Dance, You’re On Fire – Boxes Of Tigers
The La Els – Soulkiller
Wrestlerish – Bodies Of Water

Best Hipster

Fulka – Dancing In Our Darkest Days
Holiday Murray – Jirrey
Fire Through The Window – Lonely Hearts
Jack Parow – Byellville
Sedge Warbler – Paranormal Ox Man

Best Dance

PH Fat – The Big Five
Gazelle ft. Teba – Chic Afrique
Goodluck – Hop On Hop Off
Sedge Warbler – Paranormal Ox Man
Jax Panik – Get Up

Best Radio Hit

Kovsie FM – aKING / Catch Alight
Puk FM – Moses Metro Man / Huigelaar
Jacaranda FM – Elvis Blue / Lighthouse
MFM – Jax Panik / Dinosaur
Tuks FM – KONGOS / I’m Only Joking

Best Live Act

Viewers have the opportunity to nominate any artist/band for the Best Live Act category. To cast a vote, ‘Like’ the MK Facebook page at www.facebook.com/mktv.co.za and click on the ‘Live’ tab. Voting on Facebook and Mxit for the “Live” category puts viewers in line to win a Hyundai i20.

Voting has officially begun, and will end at 12:00 on 1 March, 2012.

Simply visit the MK website or check out the possible ways to place your vote below:

  • www.mktv.co.za (via mobi or web and ‘Like’ your favourite)
  • www.facebook.com/mktv.co.za
  • The MK Bot on Mxit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Us

Hi and welcome to The Socialite, an online magazine giving you access to exclusive Fashion, Lifestyle and Entertainment.

Our site offers everything from gig guides and fashion articles to reviews, interviews, music downloads and the latest hotspots. We’re thrilled to be showcasing the latest news exclusive interviews and we sincerely hope that our site can be of use to you in some way.

Featured Posts