17th Annual MTN SAMA Award Nominees

The nominees for the 17th Annual MTN South African Music Awards have been announced and we thought we’d give you a sneak peak of some of the artists nominated. Check it out…

The gala event will be held over the weekend of the 20th and 21st May 2011 in a spectacular showcase hosted by the new venue partners Montecasino in Fourways, Johannesburg. Some of the nominees include:

Best Traditional/African Adult Contemporary African DVD

Benjamin Dube – Worship In His Presence with Benjamin Dube

Dorothy Masuku and Friends – Live at Mandela Theatre

Stimela – Live In Concert: 30 years

Uche – Live At Lyric Theatre

Worship House – Project 7 It Is Well With My Soul


Best Urban DVD 

Nhlanhla Nciza – Live At The Joy Of Jazz

Teargas 101 – Teargas 101 Live

Thandiswa – Dance Of The Forgotten Free

Best Global Chart DVD

Locnville – Sun In My Pocket: Platinum Edition

Nadine – Live In Europe

Nataniël – Cathedral

Nianell – Sand & Water – Live & More

The Parlotones – Live Design


Best Afrikaans DVD

Lize Beekman – Ek Was Al Daar

Romanz – Treffers Live

Rudi En Corlea – Ons Lieflinge/Our Darlings In Konsert

Wian Vos – Geseënde Van God

Wicus Van Der Merwe – Spietkop Live


Best Jazz/Instrumental/Popular Classical DVD

Helena Hettema – Alive

Marcus Wyatt Language 12 – Live at House of Nsako – Sept 2008

Nibs Van Der Spuy – Live at the Vagabond Cafe

Sterling EQ – Live in concert at the Artscape Opera House, Cape Town


Best Multi – Artist Live DVD

Dr. Victor & The Rasta Rebels – Live in Concert

Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010 – Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010

Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010 Plus – Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010 Plus

Songs and Psalms – Live Kwa-Mashu

Best Music Video of the Year

Freshlyground – Chicken To Change

Nomfusi – Nontsokolo

Teargas – Goodfellaz

The Parlotones – The Stars Fall Down

The Parlotones – Life Design


Best Producer

Danny K – Across the Line

DJ Kent – I Can’t Survive

Goldfish – Get Busy Living

Leanne – The Journey

Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde


Best Engineer

CrashCarBurn – Long Live Tonight

Freshlyground – Radio Africa

Jax Panik – I am Jax Panik

Joe Niemand – Love

Stimela – A Life Time 

Remix Of The Year

Danny K – Made To Love You

Flash Republic – In The Name Of Dance (Roger Goode & Tinky’s Electro Boogie Mix)

Louise Carver – These Days (Ryan Dent Mix)

Nothende – Got to Go

Stimela – Turn On The Sun


Best Country Music Album

Alan Ladd – Country – Spore

Die Campbells – Keep It Country Vol. 2

Manie Jackson – Manie Jackson

Ray Dylan – Goeie Ou Country

Various – Ons Sing Kenny & Dolly


Best Rock Album: English

John Ellis – My Own Way Home

Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde

The Narrow – You Don’t Get To Quit

The Parlotones – Live Design

Zebra & Giraffe – The Inside 

Best Rock Album: Afrikaans

Countdown To The Red Carpet – Countdown To The Red Carpet

Glaskas – Aan Die Ontmaskerde Heldin

Straatligkinders – Lank Lank Oorlede En Ses Voet Benede

Van Coke Kartel – Skop, Skiet En Donner

Van Diens Af – Dit Wat Was


Best Alternative Music Album: English

Abbott Nu Jazz – Do The Bossa Favour

Boo! – The Three Of Us

Prankster – Lay Me Down

Wrestlerish – The Rude Mechanical

Yoav – A Foolproof Escape Plan

Best Alternative Music Album: Afrikaans

Bittereinder –‘n Ware Verhaal

Die See – Die See

Die Tuindwergies – Die Tuindwergies

Foto Na Dans – Die Vloed

Les Javan En Die Delta Vastrapgenootskap – Hiervandaan


Best Alternative Music Album: African

Mwaba Na Nseka – One World

Ndzingah – 1976

Nomsa Mazwai – Nomisupa

Rudi Mbele – Celebration In The Motherland

Uju – Free

Best Pop Album: English

Danny K – Across The Line

Jax Panik – I Am Jax Panik

Locnville – Sun In My Pocket

Louise Day – Swallowed By The City

The Arrows – Make Believe


Best Pop Album: Afrikaans

Gerhard Steyn – Als Begin Eers Nou

Jay – Solo

Juanita Du Plessis – Engel Van My Hart

Kurt Darren – Oos Wes Tuis Bes

Lee Scott – Die Enigste Manier


Best Pop Album: African

Camagu – Camagu

Patricia Majalisa – Epatini

Rhythmic Elements – Bandorondoro – Ancestors

Speedy & Stoan – Second Son Rise

Theo Kgosinkwe – Grateful


Best Urban Pop Album

Chomee – Fly The Flag

Ernie B St. Clair – I Am Universal

Howza – World Premier

Kwela Tebza – Gauteng Made In South Africa/Mzansi

Ntombi Ngcobo – African Sexy


Best Sokkie Dans Album

Die Campbells – Komaan Kom Dans

Fredi Nest – Dronkverliefverslaafaanjou

Kurt Darren – Die Beste Medisyne

Ray Dylan – Ek Wens Jy’s Myne

Various – Ons Sing Boney M


Best Urban Dance Album

DJ Kent – I Can’t Survive

Giggs Superstar – Deep House Chronicles 4

Liquideep – Fabrics Of The Heart

Tumelo – Arise and Shine

Zakes Bantwini – Love, Light & Music


Best Global Dance Album

Byron Keno – Breathe In Love

Flash Republic – Killer Moves

Goldfish – Get Busy Living

Jae – Inner Voice


Best R&B/Neo-Soul Album

Blackkurrant – Urban Soul

Bryce Anderson – Music In My Life

Leanne – The Journey

TXL – Three

Verd – Verd


Best Rap Album

Amu – The Principal

Kwesta – Special Rekwest

Slikour – Ventilation Volume 3 (VV3)

Tuks Senganga – Tshwanelo

Tumi & The Volume – Pick a Dream


Best Kwaito Album

L’vovo Derrango – Irresistible

Mandoza – Real Deal

Professor – University Of Kalawa Jazmee

Sosha – 745 Mission

Thebe – Mujomba


Best Reggae Album

Denga – Reggae Hits (Sendelani)

Jah Seed – No Retreat No Surrender

Rastaman Nkushu – Mphe Sebakanyana

Rob Prophet – Jennifer

Storm – Prayer


Male Artist of the year

DJ Kent – I Can’t Survive

Loyiso Bala – Full Circle

Professor – University Of Kalawa Jazmee

Theo Kgosinkwe – Grateful

Zakes Bantwini – Love, Light & Music


Female Artist of the year

Karen Zoid – Terms & Conditions

Louise Carver – Look To The Edge

Nianell – Sand & Water – Live & More

Siphokazi – Ethembeni

Thandiswa – The Forgotten Free – Live In Concert

Duo/Group of the year

Flash Republic – Killer Moves

Kwela Tebza – Gauteng Made In South Africa/Mzansi

Liquideep – Fabrics Of The Heart

Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde

Tumi & The Volume – Pick a Dream


Newcomer of the year

Jay – Solo

Kwesta – Special Rekwest

Liquideep – Fabrics Of The Heart

Locnville – Sun In My Pocket

Nomsa Mazwai – Nomisupa


Record of the year

Alone – Liquideep

Breathing – Prime Circle

Bum Bum – Zakes Bantwini

Dreamer – Arno Carstens

Fire Is Low – Freshly Ground

Get Busy Living – Goldfish

Hobie Beach – Kinky Robot

Imoto – Professor

It’s A Party – Jozi

Lovesick – The Arrows

Love You Better (w/ Rue-Groove) – Crazy White Boy

Mama (w/ Ringo) – Black Coffee

Ngisemthanda (w/ Joocy, DJ Tira & Dr Duda) – DJ CNDO

Potoko (w/ Juice Matute) – DJ Mahoota

Show Dem (w/ HHP) – JR

Turn Up The Volume – Auriol Hays

Twisted – Crash Car Burn

Warrior – Louise Carver

Woza – Jaziel Brothers

Wrong For You – Loyiso


Album of the year

Flash Republic – Killer Moves

Liquideep – Fabrics Of The Heart

Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde

Professor – University Of Kalawa Jazmee

Zakes Bantwini – Love, Light & Music

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Us

Hi and welcome to The Socialite, an online magazine giving you access to exclusive Fashion, Lifestyle and Entertainment.

Our site offers everything from gig guides and fashion articles to reviews, interviews, music downloads and the latest hotspots. We’re thrilled to be showcasing the latest news exclusive interviews and we sincerely hope that our site can be of use to you in some way.

Featured Posts